Eighteen Recipients Selected to Receive Grant Toward Undergraduate Education Costs

El Paso, TX – June 13, 2023 -- Hunt Military Communities Foundation (HMCF), the non-profit organization founded by Hunt Military Communities (HMC), is pleased to announce the winners of its fifth annual Hunt Military Communities Foundation Scholarship for active duty military members or their dependents. This year, HMCF committed $50,000 to give to deserving students seeking ongoing educational opportunities. Each of the eighteen recipients will receive a grant award, ranging from $1,000 to $5,000, to help alleviate the burden of continuing education costs.

"We look forward to this time of year when we recognize the outstanding achievements of these young men and women," said Brian Stann, Chief Executive Officer of Hunt Military Communities and Chairman of the Board for Hunt Military Communities Foundation. "It is a privilege to serve our military families, especially in the area of continued education support. We wish those awarded grants the best as they begin their next chapter!"

The winners of this year's scholarships include:

Savannah Anderson, Barksdale AFB

  • Caddo Parish Magnet High School
  • Attending: Louisiana State University in Shreveport

Avery Blackwell, Millington, TN

  • Laurel Springs High School
  • Attending: University of North Florida

Annabella Blowers, Orem, UT

  • Millennium High School
  • Attending: Brigham Young University

Colin Brotherton, Scott AFB

  • Leavenworth High School
  • Attending: Southwestern Illinois College

Bradford Coletti, Las Vegas, NV

  • Mountain View High School
  • Attending: American Military University

Garrett Denney, Lorton, VA

  • Hayfield Secondary School
  • Attending: Northern Virginia Community College - Annandale

Julianna Dine, APO AE, NY

  • Chattahoochee County High School
  • Attending: Georgia Southern University – Armstrong Campus

Kathleen Julca, JBLM, WA

  • Harrison Preparatory School
  • Attending: Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mitchell Matella, Rockville, MD

  • Oceanside High School
  • Attending: Villanova University

Madison Matella, Rockville, MD

  • Oceanside High School
  • Attending: Villanova University

Destinie Morales Gonzalez, JBLM, WA

  • Harrison Preparatory School
  • Attending: Pacific Lutheran University

Cooper Rawson, Ashburn, VA

  • Broad Run High School
  • Attending: Penn State University, State College

Sylvia Robinson, Universal City, TX

  • Randolph High School
  • Attending: Abilene Christian University

Victoria Orie, Virginia Beach, VA

  • Cape Henry Collegiate School VA
  • Attending: High Point University, NC, Exercise Science

Annabelle Rogers, Kailua, HI

  • Kalaheo High School
  • Attending: Minerva University

Jordan Sanderson, Biloxi, MS

  • Biloxi High School
  • Attending: University of Mississippi

Jenna Ward, San Diego, CA

  • Naples American High School
  • Attending: Utah State University

Corrin Woods, Del Rio, TX

  • Franklin County High School
  • Attending: University of the Incarnate Word

Scholarship recipients were selected based on their commitment to community involvement, demonstrated leadership, participation in school and community activities, and work experience. Candidates did not have to be residents of an HMC community to apply for a scholarship.

Learn More about Hunt Military Communities Foundation

Make a Donation

get involved
Ready to Make a Difference?